Search deadline extended until  
(postmarked on or before) June 21, 2019.

In April of 2018, Bishop George Wayne Smith, the 10th Bishop of the Diocese of Missouri announced his upcoming retirement. In November, the Standing Committee selected a Chair and Search/Nominating committee tasked with conducting the search to find the 11th bishop.  


This site is the home of our profile and application process. 

click to read more


click below to read our profile and learn about the application process


For more information on the search process, including a timeline, updates, and frequently asked questions, visit our Bishop's Search Page on the Diocese of Missouri's website


Please join us in prayer, asking that the Holy Spirit might guide us joyfully and thoughtfully in the search for our next bishop:

Almighty God, giver of every good gift, by your grace you have called us in this diocese to a goodly fellowship of faith. Look graciously on your Church, and answer our prayers that we may receive a bishop and pastor, who will care for your people and equip us for our ministries of the Word in the world; through Jesus Christ our Lord. Amen.


Glory to God whose power, working in us, can do infinitely more than we can ask or imagine: Glory to him from generation to generation in the Church, and in Christ Jesus for ever and ever.  Amen.    Ephesians 3:20,21

search/nominating committee

Ms. Deborah Nelson Linck, Christ Church Cathedral, St. Louis

Ms. Ilena Albarron, Episcopal Church of the Holy Communion, University City
Ms. Elizabeth Kroes-Asher, Episcopal Church of the Advent, Crestwood
Mr. Richard Entenmann, Grace Episcopal Church, Kirkwood
Mr. Matthew Jackson, All Saints Episcopal Church, Farmington
Mr. Rudy Nickens, Episcopal Church of the Holy Communion, University City
Ms. Bren O’Connor, Christ Church Cathedral, St. Louis
Mr. William Sheldon, St. Thomas Deaf Episcopal Church
Ms. Annette Webb, Calvary Episcopal Church, Columbia
Dr. Carter Whitson, Trinity Episcopal Church, CWE, St. Louis

The Rev. Chester Hines, Episcopal Church of the Holy Communion, University City
The Rev. Luke Jernagan, St. Peter’s Episcopal Church, Ladue
The Rev. Harry Leip, Trinity Episcopal Church, CWE, St. Louis
The Very Rev. Kathie Adams-Shepherd, Christ Church Cathedral, St. Louis
The Rev. Sally Weaver, Trinity Episcopal Church, St. James, St. Martin’s Episcopal Church, Ellisville
The Rev. Tamsen Whistler, Trinity Episcopal Church, St. Charles

Contact Us